180 days of learning

180 days of learning

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Good Days and Bad Days

September 12, 2012

It took 14 days of school to have a bad day.  I was very impressed that it took that long because as a first year teacher, I pictured myself being carried out the door crying on the first day of school.  This bad day almost reached that point until I realized that this was my VERY FIRST bad day and it is okay!  Everyone got on the bus with everything they came to school with, no one was hurt, and all of the kids were happy (by the end of the day).  A couple of days later, a good day made up for the bad one and so much more.  One of my students wrote her name all by herself!  We hugged, we cheered, we took pictures and we danced.  She was so proud of her work and I was even more proud.

Teaching in an Intense Intervention classroom, I’ve learned a few things.  One being, when it rains it’s more than likely going to pour at some point in the day.  Two, it’s okay if what I had planned for the day doesn’t get done.  Third, and most important, 180 days of learning will happen in a very unique way in my classroom.  Holding a pencil, trying new foods, walking in a line, counting, using utensils to eat are just a few things that will be learned in my classroom for 180 days.  There will always come a positive from every negative and if this is truly the case, BRING ON THE BAD DAYS!

If this doesn’t make you smile, I don’t know what will.

ImagePosted by: Natalie Branda – Intense Intervention teacher at Menominee Elementary School

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

comments

We forget to remember what it was like for us “old” when we first started. Thanks for the reminder.

Joshua Winrotte (@coachrotte)

September 13, 2012

