180 days of learning

180 days of learning

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Play Like a Champion

October 1, 2012

Image

So, what does it mean to “Play Like a Champion”?  I recently had the privilege of listening to a very wise man speak on this topic.  I started thinking about all the ways I do “play like a champion” and in all the ways I can step up my game and truly “Play Like a Champion.”

A teacher takes on many roles.  We are educator, parent, care-giver, coach, leader, confidant, cheer squad . . . the list is truly long.  I started to think about all the ways that I am a coach to my students.  I give them the best equipment, show them effective plays, walk them through the steps of the play over and over again until it is perfected . . . but even bigger than that, is my role as motivator.  When a good coach motivates, he or she gets more effort from the team.  A good coach can build you up and instill a sense of conquering the world!  I take this role very seriously when working with the hearts and minds of these young adolescents.  Because at the end of the day, the words I use and the motivation I instill, it really matters!   In every role I play, it matters that I support, praise, build-up, cheer-on, and show approval.  When a student has confidence, he has already won a part of the battle.

So, I am working hard to motivate my students to give their best effort in every element of their education.  Give it all you’ve got . . . because the steps you take everyday, point you in one direction or another . . . and the direction you go really matters!  So, I am playing like a champion as a teacher, and leading my students in the direction to play like champions in life . . . starting in the classroom.

 

Submitted by Shelly Record, 6th Grade Language Arts Teacher at Riverside Intermediate School.  Shelly has taught language arts for 12 years in Plymouth Schools. 

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

