180 days of learning

180 days of learning

You can scroll the shelf using and keys

Projects in 12th Grade English

January 23, 2013

          We have done a number of projects in Ms. Haynie’s 12th grade English class so far this year. All of these projects have helped me better understand what we are learning in class. Recently, we read parts of Chaucer’s The Canterbury Tales, which is a frame story. A frame story basically joins together one or more stories within a larger story (or within a “frame”). In order to help us understand and learn more about frame stories, Ms. Haynie assigned us a group project. This project involves creating characters and describing them, writing a two-page frame story with our group, and writing a two-page individual story.

          This project has helped me understand the purpose of a frame story. The purpose of a frame story is to organize a set of shorter stories, each of which is a story within a story. This project has also helped me integrate morals/lessons and the three types of irony into my writing. I believe this project not only taught me about frame stories, but it also helped develop my writing because it taught me how to be creative and use my imagination.

Written by Justina Hite, 12th grade

What do you think?

Please keep your comments polite and on-topic.

